Guest Post: Jus Accardo, YA Author

gp

There’s a saying…write what you know. Obviously I don’t have much experience with demons, extraordinary abilities, or multiverse travel, but I do know a thing or two about being a person. Specifically, a…less than graceful person.

Have you ever wiped out so spectacularly that people have considered erecting a monument in honor of your…uniqueness?

I have. Multiple times.

In most of my books, there’s at least one character who will inevitably trip over the cracks in the sidewalk. There could be a pebble in their path and it’s going to cause them to face plant in the most epic way. That character is me.

Today I’m going to share my three biggest public wipeouts.What about you? Share yours in the comments below!

  1.  The car incident. l think I was 25ish when it happened. My husband had stopped at a red light, in the middle or rush hour traffic. My cousin was in the car behind us, and had left her bag in my back seat. My brilliant idea was to just quickly run it back to her before the light changed. There was plenty of time. Well, I opened the door and tried to get out, but my foot snagged on a plastic bag. The end result was me on my ass in the middle of the road, climbing to my feet to a musical symphony of car horn salutes. In case you’re wondering, yes. I did take a bow.  😉
  2.  That one time, at the bank… I used to work in a Waldenbooks inside the mall. Fridays during lunch, I’d run down to the bank at the other end to cash my check—just like everyone else.One day I decided to take a shortcut by stepping over the divider rope instead of going around it. I didn’t raise my foot high enough, and ended up pulling a gravity defying flip that left me on the ground. Did I mention this was the one and only day I wore a skirt? Everyone saw London and France…. You could have heard an ant fart as the entire population of mall workersstared down at me.
  3.  BEA. So you know that book conference? Book Expo America? Yeah. My grace and poise struck there, too. Picture this. My very first time attending. Hundreds of people milling around. A set of impossibly long stairs heading down to the registration area. Two steps and a single comment from my friend. Careful, you don’t want to fall down all these stairs! The universe has a nasty sense of humor. I put my foot down and missed the third step. I ended up on the landing right before the bottom, bouncing down nearly the entire flight of stairs…. The rest of the day, people kept passing, asking if I was okay. That’s me. Memorable for all the wrong reasons!

The single most important thing I’ve learned living as an incurable klutz? I mean, besides the importance of a good shoelace knot and a pocketful of Advil…. Learn to laugh at yourself. Don’t take people, situations—and most importantly, yourself—too serious.

 

abouttheauthor

jus-accardo

JUS ACCARDO spent her childhood reading and learning to cook. Determined to follow in her grandfather’s footsteps as a chef, she applied and was accepted to the Culinary Institute of America. But at the last minute, she realized her true path lay with fiction, not food. A native New Yorker, she lives in the middle of nowhere with her husband, three dogs, and sometimes guard bear, Oswald.

connect-with-the-author

 

Aboutthebook

9781633758254

OMEGA (Infinity Division Series, Book 2) by Jus Accardo

Audience/Genre: Young Adult/Sci-Fi, Romance Element

Published by Entangled Teen, Entangled Publishing LLC.

 

One mistake can change everything. Ashlyn Calvert finds that out the hard way when a bad decision leads to the death of her best friend, Noah Anderson.

Only Noah isn’t really gone. Thanks to his parents’ company, the Infinity Division, there is a version of him skipping from one dimension to another, set on revenge for the death of his sister, Kori. When a chance encounter brings him face-to-face with Ash, he’s determined to resist the magnetic pull he’s felt for her time and time again. Because falling for Ash puts his mission in danger.

But there’s more going on in Ash’s alternate universe than either of them knows: a mysterious project called Omega. A conspiracy spanning multiple Earths and revolving around none other than Ash. Its creators would do anything to keep Omega secret…

Anything.

BUY THE BOOK BUTTON

Leave a Reply

