Guest Post from Author Taylor Anne

gp

Girls’ Weekend – Attempts at Writing…

As an author I, like many others, struggle with finding time to write. My normal schedule is stretched out between the day job, family, writing, and the business side of being an author. Yes, this is a business and you have to treat it like one. That’s a whole other topic. Another day. Right now I want to talk to you about finding time to write. Heck, I really want to talk to you about getting lost in a girls’ weekend with friends, music, food, wine, and still finding time to write.

What do you think of when you think of a girls’ weekend? Have you ever been on one? Let me tell you a little about the latest one I went on. (Writing this during that weekend.)

It usually starts when I, or one of my friends, needs that get-a-way from life. You know – your nerves are shot to hell and back because of the job, family, pets, and daily duties. You need some regrouping time. That’s when Brandy and I go into the planning stage. The date is set, the venue confirmed. COUNTDOWN begins.

Nita Rest 3Jump ahead to the day of. That is the longest day ever at the job. But, when that five o’clock bell rings, there is no stopping us. First comes the hugs. It may have been a week to several months since the last time we saw each other. Gotta have the hug. Then the unpacking – clothes, computers, camera, notebooks, food, oh – careful with that wine!

The first night is simply a gathering. We meet any newcomers, stake our claim on beds and working areas, eat a simple supper, and have a drink. This would be the most laid-back day. Take a walk outside to the screened-in porch. Feel the breeze blowing across your face. Ahhh…. Bliss….

Let the fun begin! Relaxation to the fullest! I’m talking, hair in pony-tail, make-up free faces, sweats, t-shirts. This is one reason we don’t post pictures of ourselves on social media over the weekend. Only pictures of the gorgeous sunsets, surroundings, work stations, and of course the wine. Maybe – and that is a big maybe – one day we make ourselves presentable and take pictures to share. Then again, maybe not. Who wants to take the time to dress up? Or dress at all – pj’s are a common attire all day long.

Nita Rest 1With the music playing all weekend, it’s easy for me to get in the groove of writing. Music plays a vital part in my concentration. Everything else I tune out. If the girls are cutting up or having a deep conversation, they have to get my attention for me to get out of my zone. Everyone comes and goes as they please. At any given moment Brandy (the photographer of the group) will jump up, head outside, and shoot some pictures. Rose goes in and out, snoozing in the hammock and cooking for us. At the retreats we attend in Galveston, there are scrapbookers – cutting, pasting, chatting. Me – if needed, headphones are in and I’m writing away.

It’s great because I can share scenes, get advice, run ideas by these people. Some are readers, some are not. So it really gives me good all-around input. And just being in the same place as so many different people with different hobbies, gets my creative juices flowing. A comment during a conversation can spark my imagination for the book I’m working on, or it can be filed away for a later one. Inspiration hits when you have such a diversified group of people together.

Nita Rest 2One of my favorite times is in the evening as the sun sets, sitting outside on the porch, breathing in the fresh air, sipping on a glass of wine. Laptop open, pounding away at the keyboard. Picture perfect and productive!

One of the funniest moments is whenever the owner of the retreat house calls to check on us and says, “I’m so worried you will be bored. There’s not a lot to do on the lake.” Our response is always the same, “You don’t understand, we don’t leave the house. This is perfect for us.” Even in Galveston, the only time we make it to the beach (only two blocks over) is to take pictures for our websites. We are not in it for the hustle and bustle… we are in it for the solitude (group solitude). If you’ve never experienced this, you may not understand – and don’t know the good time you are missing.

And that, my friends, is how I manage to be productive on a girls’ weekend.

Love, hugs, and kisses – Taylor

Photos courtesy of Dark Side Photography http://darksidephotography.zenfolio.com/

 

abouttheauthor

 

Author pic

Wake up every day and decide to make it a great one! I do believe being positive is a choice we have to make. Do it. It can change you.

Besides trying to bring smiles to people’s faces, I enjoy living life to its fullest. Give me a glass of wine, some good music, cats, the beach, sunshine,… Well, I could go on and on. With all the trials and tribulations we face each day in our personal lives as well as the world, I find it is so much easier to deal with if you have a positive attitude, put your trust in your higher power (mine is God), and enjoy the life you have.

I live in SouthWest Louisiana (Bayou Country and great Cajun food) with my wonderful and supportive husband.  Our combined families include four great children; two daughters and two sons – and growing with in-laws and grandbabies.  Oh, and one cat, Oscar.  It is such a blessing to have the love, encouragement (and computer help!) from my family. I could not make it daily without each of them.

Growing up, I never went anywhere without a book in my hand.  Reading was my great escape, and still is.  Only now I’ve added the joy of writing to the mix.  Plotting scenes and envisioning different endings (always happily-ever-after) is where it all starts.  The challenge comes with converting the images into words and putting them on paper.  And I love a great challenge!

Everyone needs some way to escape the stress, trials, and even smiles of this world. Shopping, sewing, running, hunting, and golfing are just a few of those escapes.  Add reading and writing to my list above.  Nothing takes me away from it all like reading a good suspenseful or romantic book.  Writing stories would be next on my list.  I enjoy letting my imagination run wild by changing an everyday situation into something crazy, thrilling, or romantic. 

I am published with The Wild Rose Press and Amazon Encore.  I am a member of Romance Writers of America and Bayou Writers Group of Southwest Louisiana. I hope that my writing will give someone the escape they need in their world.

Love, hugs, and kisses – Taylor

 

  world-wide-web-globe_318-39772   Newsletter amazon-2048-black  square-facebook-128  Twitter-logo21 goodreads

email-icon-clip-art-at-vector-clip-art

email the author

Aboutthebook

3fcd745f3a8feb798a81d425cedfd83a

Drug deal and Murder: In her fight for justice, Abby Monroe is forced to flee to protect herself and her family, seeking out the only man she’s ever fully trusted. Seeing him again threatens not only her safety, but her heart as well.

Injuries and Betrayal: After a close call with death, Graeme Tucker made some changes. No women, no danger. Just him and his beach bar. Until Abby shows up asking for his help and twisting his heart. 

Lies and Deception: As Graeme and Abby struggle to stop a gang of ruthless criminals, old flames are rekindled. But all is not as it seems. Will Graeme stand by his word to protect Abby, or does he have a sinister agenda of his own?

Amazon-Logo  kobo_720w    Barnes-Noble-Logo1_Logo_TWRPINC

7 thoughts on “Guest Post from Author Taylor Anne

  1. There is nothing like a girls’ writing getaway! My critique partners and I do it from time to time, but not often enough! Sounds like you had an amazing time. Thanks for sharing with us!

    Like

  2. Whenever writers get together ideas fly and imaginations soar. I could not write without my writers’ groups. Your writing weekend sounds divine!

    Like

  3. Wow…I wanna come to the next one LOL!

    Sounds like a wonderful…fun yet productive time.

    Great post.
    Good luck and God’s blessings
    PamT

    Like

Leave a Reply

